Labor Law Guy

Personnel Concepts Jettisons ‘Final Notice’–Cheers Are Heard

Posted in Federal Labor Law, Random Musings, State Labor Law by laborlawguy on April 30, 2009

final_noticeThe cheers I’m referring to actually came from within Personnel Concepts as management announced it was no longer mailing its marketing piece with the words “Final Notice” on the envelope’s cover. Evidently, employees had heard enough complaints about the piece over the years to be happy about its demise.

So my sources inform me, at any rate. We’ll have to wait and see if there’s any public confirmation.

In truth, I frequently get mail that resembles the “Final Notice.” You know, envelopes that look as if they’re coming from the government, sometimes even the IRS, but you can usually smell them out by looking at the bulk postage on them, a dead giveaway.

I’ve read through the “Final Notice,” and it appears to have plenty of disclaimers in it. Still, Americans love to feel deceived and picked on, so you get the idea.

Anyway, if the company has actually ended the marketing piece, those who found it objectionable will move on…to find much more that’s objectionable to them elsewhere.

Can’t win for losin’.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. nunnya said, on April 30, 2009 at 11:13 am

    You are an idoit!

    These people are scumbags that know they are being deceptive. That’s probably why a company from California has a return address in Canada? Not to mention the name and information they used as my company name was incorrect mash of names and addresses from my past jobs, company names, and addresses. To me, this is the stuff that should be illegal. PERIOD!

  2. laborlawguy said, on April 30, 2009 at 11:29 am

    You’re certainly entitled to your opinion, but I don’t know where you got that “return address in Canada” part. Canada appears neither on Final Notice or the Web site.

  3. Serious Business Owner said, on May 1, 2009 at 8:10 am

    Canada? Where the heck did you get Canada? I’ve never heard anything or seen anything about Canada being an address for Personnel Concepts. As far as idiot you obviously know nothing about what your talking about. I’m a marketer and if your information was incorrect it’s because the sources your provided your information have it stored incorrectly…most likely because you provided incorrect information or have not updated your information. I get mail all the time with an offer than has nothing to do with me. I don’t get mad at the company I just realize there is just way to much information out there and there is bound to be a problem with something I get in the mail.

  4. World Is My Oyster said, on May 5, 2009 at 7:23 am

    I can’t believe that people get so upset over a smart, slick marketing piece, which when I received it seemed clearly not to be a government piece. But maybe I’m another idiot like Nunnya (None-ya) called the author.

  5. Michael Ferrera said, on May 12, 2009 at 8:53 am

    I just was reading another post about this final notice disappearing. Well if it’s gone I’d like to see where personnel concepts ends up. For some reason it feels like the Final Notice wasn’t the problem the fact they posters are free from the government and how often personnel concepts mails and calls. That might be true but I do agree with the Labor Law Guy…locating all your posters can get pretty time consuming…not to mention locating state posters also. No one shows you where to get all those at, just the federal. In any case good luck to Personnel Concepts. I will continue to do business with them.

  6. Jon Otto said, on May 14, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    Obviously this never made them that much money. It sounds like it’s just been more of a head ache than a money maker. Since the advent of social media it’s amazing how much louder a person’s cry can seem. The labor law poster industry has definitely taken a hit. Personnel Concepts though has always been the innovator so I really don’t see how this will hurt them.


Leave a Reply

